The Comparison Trap

Why do we spend so much time trying to be like everyone else?

My 2 year old is trying to act like my 7 year old and vice versa. On the other hand, I am trying to act like a person with their shit together, and that isn’t getting me any closer either. The real question is why? Why do I think some else can do my life better than me? It isn’t possible, this is it. My one chance, so why spend it trying to morph into someone else?

I’ve been watching all my digital TPT friends, they all know each other and are social media gurus, but quite frankly I am overwhelmed. In some ways it’s like high school and I want to be in with the cool kids but have no idea how to be cool. I know it’s stupid, but I keep comparing their beautiful websites, and their #teacherspayteachers stuff and I just don’t feel like I can compete. However, I am taking it one day at a time. I am working on blogging more often and as I create things for my classroom, I will work on posting things to a TPT site. But, if it doesn’t happen, it doesn’t happen and my life will go on, I have a zillion other things kickin’ my butt and adding one may not work, and that is FINE. I don’t have to be like anyone else. I can be me and still be FABULOUS.

Leave a Reply

